

GFBR Re-launch & Satellite Meeting

Room Don Americo, Hilton Reforma

Mexico City, Mexico, 24 June 2014

AGENDA

- 8:30 Registration (& coffee)
- 9:00 Welcome Florencia Luna
- 9:10 Re-launching the GFBR the vision Doug Wassenaar

Angus Dawson – outgoing President of IAB

Session 1 CHAIR: Elizabeth Bukusi

9:30 **Keynote Speaker**: Carla Saenz – Think outside of the ERC: A reflection on how to move towards better research ethics systems

10:00 Panel Discussion

- Regional representatives on the panel
 - o Africa Paul Ndebele
 - o Asia Leonardo de Castro
 - o Europe Hans Van Delden
 - North America Jeremy Sugarman
 - o Latin America Florencia Luna
- 11:15 Tea & Coffee

Session 2 CHAIR: Bebe Loff

11:45 **Case Study 1** (The Ethics of International Collaborative Research Part A: the challenges of ethical review of multi-site, multi-country studies)

- Speakers:
 - Eric Meslin Indiana University (USA)/ Moi University (Kenya) Academic Research Ethics Partnership
 - Aminu Yakubu H3Africa Consortium
 - Xavier Carne ECRIN (European Clinical Research Infrastructure Network)
- 12:45 Lunch

1:30 Breakout Groups

- Discussion facilitators
 - o Tegun Haryo Sasongko
 - Lily Gordillo (Spanish speaking group)
 - o Athula Sumathipala
 - o Hany Sleem

2:15 Feedback from Groups

Session 3 CHAIR: Godfrey Tangwa

2:45 **Case Study 2** (The Ethics of International Collaborative Research Part B: 'Taking stock: international collaborative ethics networks')

- Session to include 3 speakers
 - Mike Parker Emerging forms global health research collaboration
 - Carel IJsselmuiden MARC (Mapping African Research Ethics Review and Medicines Regulatory Capacity) project
 - Estela Quiroz Independent Network Research Ethics Committees: the Peruvian experience

3:45 Breakout Groups (coffee)

- Discussion facilitators
 - o Irene Melamed
 - o Phaik Yeong Cheah
 - o Dirce Guilhem
 - o Aamir Jafarey
- 4:30 **Plenary** feedback from breakout groups

Session 4 CHAIR: Anant Bhan

- 5:00 **Brainstorm** (future topics/ideas for GFBR) & conclusion
- 5:25 Special Award Ceremony
- 5:30 Close